Them naughty snakes

Them naughty snakes

Last night I dreamt about snakes. There were a few in the garden, I don’t know this garden, it was just a house and garden that I’ve never seen before. I managed to get one snake into a bowl and I took a scissors and cut it’s head off. *gag* I know, but the boys were there and I was scared. It was a thin skinny snake.

In another part of the dream I was on top of a tree or tall chair or something that I was sort of lying on. I felt something by my head moving around and there was this snake … like a cobra/viper/puff adder type (I’m so clueless about snakes) curling around my head, in my hair. It was long, huge and fat. I moved out of fright and the snake bit me with these two HUGE fangs. I started getting dizzy and lethargic, however I managed to grab a hold of him behind his head and I killed him somehow. He was green and brown with yellow markings on him, in a pattern. I was okay, didn’t need hospitalisation or anything, lol.

So I logged onto trust Google and found quite a bit of stuff on dream interpretation about snakes… the following are excerpts that I’ve just cut and paste:-

“If you have a snake around your body this can show some type of entrapment and real problems in a relationship. This can signify marital difficulties and divorce. Even though this may be a negative situation and cause problems the feeling of happiness will return eventually.”

“If the snake is frightening you in any way then this dream relates to trying to overcome a difficult problem or a troublesome person.”

“Often this dream occurs when you are suffering some kind of grief or separation in your life. The symbolism of the snake sense time to close the door on a period of your life and move on. “

“If the snake in your dream is an Adder then this is directly associated with a friend. This dream as an ancient interpretation that the Adder are likely to mean that you are going to encounter some deceit upon those future if the outer runs away from new then this is an indication that you are likely to be able to overcome this difficult situation. It is important to you to and your character.”

“If you kill more than one or two snakes indicates that you are in danger of likely enemies that wish to do you harm. Ensure that you are not cheated by someone you trust in the future. “

“If you kill a snake then you’re going to have a great opportunity to advance yourself in respect others around you – this is a positive dream in that your going to overcome all obstacles that stand in your way.”

A lot of this is true… however the part of a friend being deceitful isn’t nice to read. So I’m puzzling all of this when a friend, M, gives me her own interpretation of my dream:-

“The snake in the bowl is your ex. The boys were watching you cut the head off and it indicates you’ve finally make the break, for the sake of your boys.
The other snake that bits you is representing your general fear of men/relationships and stepping into the unknown.
The snakes in the garden indicate that you feel a bit scared about what is out in the world for you. Quite understandable.
But I think it’s very positive that you were managing to protect your boys from the snakes.”

I think she did pretty well don’t you? 😀

I then found this quite interesting… The Freud Snake Interpretation…

“Freud believed that the dream of snake is directly related to some aspects of of emotional passion. He believed that the dreamer needed to come to terms with his or her own personality has been a oppressed due to his or her urge of sexuality. On a more basic level this dream also has a direct relationship with the penis. If we look at ancient history the snake or serpent signifies the evil as illustrated in the Garden of Eden yet Freud thought this dream was a direct interpretation of an uncontrolled passion. The snake or serpent also suggest some type of temptation and this search for spiritual power.”

That does make me laugh… and also hits home… 😉 This I especially liked:-

“The message of this dream is that you need to recognise that negative energies have existed and it is time to clear the air and move on in your life.”

I’ve always had a fear of snakes. It’s not a phobia… I can touch a snake/boa and be near them, but I generally really dislike them. So dreaming about them doesn’t feel pleasant to me. Reading all the different interpretations I’m picking out what I think applies to my life as it stands now and I can see a lot of coincidences.

Be it true or not… be it just a stupid old dream… I’m going to take that last bold paragraph away from this. It’s positive and I can work with that. Snakes… I may not like them, I may find it difficult to deal with being around them, but if I can take that I defeated my fears in my dreams… then maybe I can defeat them in real life too. 😀

6 thoughts on “Them naughty snakes

  1. I dreamt of two puffadders, one I think was in a bed but the two were in the same house I didn’t recognise, they were both very dosile and my thoughts were to put them in a pillowcase and tie it so they wouldn’t bite anyone. i remember my eldest son being in the dream but can’t remember his part in it, it was a pretty relaxed dream. Please could you advise the meaning of this

  2. Thanks for making this kind of awesome post that is actually very well
    written.will end up being referring a lot of friends concerning this.
    Keep blogging and site-building.

Leave a Reply

