It’s not fair! *stomps foot*

It’s not fair! *stomps foot*

BEEP BEEP BEEP BEEP!!!

My stupid alarm rang this Tuesday morning at the glorious “rise and shine” time of 5:30am. It’s winter, dark and cold. And I’m tired. I so badly want to sleep some more, just a bit more… so I hit the “snooze” button. A blink later and it’s off again…

BEEP BEEP BEEP BEEP!!!

Argh… Nooooo! I get up and shut the offending sound off. Sit and stare into the dark, sleeping with my eyes opened. Wake the hell up Karin! I peel of the layers of clothes (I dress like a Yeti in winter at bedtime) and enter the shower. This always does the trick and thank goodness this morning it still works like a charm in waking me up.

After this I go into the kitchen, make coffee and lunches for the boys and I. Joshua was awake just after me so we were chatting while I did the morning routine. It was past the time for Matthew to wake up, so I got into bed next to him, hugged him and softly told him to wake up. He moaned, he groaned, he wanted to sleep more. *sigh* Don’t we all. I tried my best, but thought i’d let him have an extra 5 minutes.

After 4 minutes it sounded like an ogre had entered the lounge/kitchen area of my flat. Matt came stomping through, red-faced, hair standing up all over the place, eyes huge and angry. And boy did he moan and groan. He lay on the couch in the lounge, moaning because Josh was talking, because Josh was breathing, moaning because he wanted to sleep and why wasn’t it weekend? May I remind you, this is only Tuesday.

I told him about sunshine and butterflies waiting for him outside and a whole new day to play and make new friends. The death stare I got in return I accepted as I kinda felt I deserved that one.

Then the tears started. He sobbed and moaned so much about having to wake up. He covered himself in a blanket and kicked and fought with nothing. Poor Josh got the brunt of it. I did intervene of course, but it made me stand and watch this story and think… It’s not fair!

I also want to kick and scream and cry and moan when it’s wake-up time! I also want to tell everyone to shut the hell up so I can go back to sleep! I also want to cover myself with a blanket and kick and tell the world to bugger off until I FEEL like waking up. I want to stomp my foot and sound like an ogre and be angry with everyone around me for having stupid sunny-shiny smiles on their faces! *THWACK*

But I’m a big people now. A grown-up. Which means I can’t do that, especially a single-mom grown-up. I have to get up, without complaining so that I can cheer the boys up to face their day with a smile, while inwards I can’t wait to swallow my anti-depressant… which is my “little helper”. hehe… I have to make lunches, walk the boys to school and then get a bus to town, then walk a bit to get another bus to my office complex. Walk into the complex to my building and work.

I guess just watching this tantrum unfold this morning made me chuckle inside as I thought to myself… “My son, this is NOTHING! Wait until life starts actually getting harder”. I can just imagine myself all old and grey, telling my 30 year old son to think of sunshine and butterflies and playing with new friends. He’d have me admitted for sure. Hey, at least I can sleep late there!

2 thoughts on “It’s not fair! *stomps foot*

Leave a comment